Basil in a tin

Basil seedlings

Basil seedlings

I like to grow basil close to tomatoes, even in the glasshouse. Some tall tins are being recycled  for the basil and I am hoping that they will not dry out too quickly in the hot weather. I have already planted four heritage tomato plants.

In the clean up of last season’s plants and renewal of potting mix, I found a dried out tomato of unknown variety. I planted the seeds and surprisingly they have germinated, so I will also plant a few of these mystery plants. The seeds were sprinkled onto some potting mix in a punnet, covered with a light covering of potting mix and kept moist.

tomato

tomato in a self watering system

tomato seedlings in a punnet

tomato seedlings

Leave a Reply

