Adding Colour with Australian Native plants

Submerge the pot in a bucket of water before planting

Submerge the pot in a bucket of water before planting

I have been having a big clean up in the garden which has led to a few planting opportunities. There are a few nurseries in Ballarat so I visited 3 last week to see if there were any plants suitable for my garden.

I came home with nine plants and they were chosen to provide several months of colour and Grevillea rhyolitica “Deua Gold” will provide winter colour. Attracting birds is important and I also like to consider leaf texture for when the plants are not flowering.

It is a long time since I have paid nursery prices as I usually go to plant shows put on by the Australian Plants Groups to get my plants.  When you consider the time and skill  taken to grow the plants they are still good value. If you prepare the soil and give them a good start, many last for years. Look out for the the next local native plant show on October 19 & 20 in the Robert Clark Centre in the Botanic Gardens Ballarat.

The first step in planting for me is to put the plant in a bucket of water and wait until the bubbles stop. When a plant is watered regularly in a nursery sometimes the water just follows the quickest route down and I like to make sure the soil is thoroughly wet before planting.Here is a list of the plants I chose;

Acacia guinettii, Boronia megastigma “Heaven Scent”, Ozothamnus diosmifolius “Radiance”, Thryptomene baeckaceae prostrate, Philotheca sp. “Soft Swirls”, Grevillea “Fire Cracker”, Callistemon subulatus “Packer’s Selection”, Callistemon “King’s park Special”, Grevillea rhyolitica x “Deua Gold” and Phebalium glandulosum.

 

Leave a Reply

